Discussion 07 established the existence of actual investments. Discussion 08 asks the next level down:
What financial assets existed, what income did they generate, who held them, and what controls governed access to the cash?
1. By 30 June 2015, both cash and investments are proved
Cash and bank balances
$4,403,500
Investments
$1,877,878
Investment-related income
$707,980
The $707,980 comprises $114,070 in New Zealand dividends and $593,910 in other investment income.
This is significant because it proves two different financial-asset classes were present: cash/bank balances and non-current investments.
Official annual returnWaitangi National Trust — annual return for year ended 30 June 2015.
2. The public summary does not identify the underlying securities
The 2015 return uses the single balance-sheet label “Investments”.
It does not disclose, in the public summary:
issuer;
security type;
number of units or shares;
term-deposit maturity;
fund manager;
custodian;
broker;
purchase cost;
or fair value by instrument.
3. The same problem applies to the cash balance
The 2015 summary records “Cash and bank balances” of $4.4035m.
That does not disclose:
which bank or banks held the accounts;
how many accounts existed;
whether any balances were term deposits;
the account mandates;
who held signing authority;
or whether some cash belonged to a restricted fund.
Those questions require the full audited notes, bank confirmations and account schedules.
4. The 2016 consolidated return gives another hard snapshot
For the year ended 30 June 2016, the Waitangi National Trust Group annual return records:
Cash and cash equivalents
$2,293,832
Investments
$1,546,586
Interest, dividends and other investment revenue
$316,941
The Group also recorded total assets of $32.519m and total equity of $28.486m.
But the reporting perimeter changed: the Group comprises Waitangi National Trust and Waitangi Limited. That means the 2016 consolidated figures are not directly identical to the Trust-only 2015 return.
Official annual returnWaitangi National Trust Group — annual return for year ended 30 June 2016.
5. The 2017 return shows the financial-asset balances again
For the year ended 30 June 2017, the consolidated Group return records:
Cash and cash equivalents
$206,935
Investments
$1,445,722
Investment revenue
$96,521
Total Group assets were reported at $29.679m and equity at $26.477m.
Official annual returnWaitangi National Trust Group — annual return for year ended 30 June 2017.
6. What the three snapshots show — and what they do not
| Year | Cash / cash equivalents | Investments | Investment-related income | Reporting perimeter |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2015 | $4,403,500 | $1,877,878 | $707,980 | Waitangi National Trust |
| 2016 | $2,293,832 | $1,546,586 | $316,941 | Waitangi National Trust Group |
| 2017 | $206,935 | $1,445,722 | $96,521 | Waitangi National Trust Group |
Those figures establish a declining reported cash balance and declining investment balance across the three snapshots.
They do not establish the cause of the movement merely by comparison. The reporting perimeter changed, capital expenditure may have occurred, liabilities changed, and the financial statements contain other movements that must be reconciled.
7. The audit trail confirms external audit, not custody
The 2016 and 2017 annual returns state that the Group was required to have its financial statements audited and identify Karen Shires, Partner, PricewaterhouseCoopers, on behalf of the Office of the Auditor-General as the auditor.
That is evidence of external financial audit.
It is not evidence that PwC or the Auditor-General held the Trust's money or investments.
8. The fraud evidence proves online banking arrangements existed
The Serious Fraud Office says the Trust's Corporate Services Manager was responsible for financial administration and could raise online transaction orders to pay vendors from Trust accounts.
The SFO describes the banking system as having a two-part authorisation system: one person raised the transaction and another approved it.
The employee obtained former or other employees' banking credentials and used them to authorise 43 fraudulent online payments to accounts he controlled.
This proves the Trust operated online bank accounts with credential-based payment controls.
It still does not identify the banking institution.
Serious Fraud OfficeSFO — Employee commits $1.2m fraud against Waitangi National Trust.
9. The fraud also tells us something about custody control
The SFO says the employee exploited weaknesses in online banking access, including credentials belonging to a former employee. A new accounts manager later found discrepancies through account reconciliation, leading to further investigation.
The Trust responded by increasing its finance team and introducing greater segregation of duties and role sharing.
For the ledger, that means access-control history matters alongside balances:
Legal owner / account holder
Which Trust or Group entity was named on each financial account?
Custodian / institution
Which bank, investment manager, broker or custodian physically or legally held the asset?
Mandate / access control
Who could initiate, approve, alter or reconcile transactions?
10. The public summaries still do not identify the bank
Nothing in the annual-return summaries reviewed for 2015, 2016 or 2017 names the bank that held the cash.
The SFO material describes the online banking process but does not name the institution.
Therefore the correct current entry is:
Bank / cash custodian: not yet established from the public source set.
The same rule applies to the $1.878m, $1.547m and $1.446m investment balances:
Investment manager / custodian / securities: not yet established from the public source set.
11. The full evidence request is now very specific
To close the cash and investment chain, we need:
full audited financial statements and notes for each year;
bank account schedules;
bank confirmation letters supplied to the auditor;
bank mandates and authorised-signatory records;
investment schedules;
portfolio statements;
custodian statements;
broker contract notes;
term-deposit certificates;
dividend statements;
interest certificates;
Board investment-policy documents;
investment committee or Board resolutions;
and general-ledger transaction extracts.
12. Endowment revenue must also be reconciled into the bank ledger
The Waitangi Endowment Act separately directs qualifying Endowment revenue to the Waitangi National Trust Board.
Discussion 08 therefore cannot stop at investment income. We also need to identify:
each Endowment revenue calculation;
the administration deductions;
the amount payable to the Board;
the payment date;
the receiving bank account;
and how the receipt was classified in the Board's accounts.
Until those records are obtained, Endowment revenue cannot be reconstructed merely from the statutory formula.
13. Discussion 08 audit position
The public record proves that substantial cash and investment assets existed and produced investment income. It also proves the existence of online bank accounts and payment controls. It does not yet identify the bank, investment manager, custodian or underlying securities. Those are now precise documentary targets rather than matters for inference.
Where Discussion 08 leads
Discussion 09 should return to governance, but with the same source discipline:
Who actually succeeded each representative member, under what appointment authority, and where are the gaps in the succession record?
Source register for Discussion 08
Official annual return2015 Waitangi National Trust annual return ↗ — cash, investments, dividends and investment income.
Official annual return2016 Waitangi National Trust Group annual return ↗ — cash, investments, investment revenue and auditor details.
Official annual return2017 Waitangi National Trust Group annual return ↗.
Official registerWaitangi National Trust Group — consolidated annual-return register ↗.
Serious Fraud OfficeSFO case study ↗; SFO sentencing release ↗ — online banking, authorisation controls and impact on cash reserves.
Audit rule: balance ≠ bank identity; auditor ≠ custodian; investment income ≠ portfolio identification; online banking evidence ≠ proof of which bank; account access ≠ beneficial ownership. Reviewed 2 September 2026.